Circuit, Criminal, Chancery & Business Courts

Tennessee’s 95 counties are divided into 31 judicial districts. Within each district are Circuit Courts and Chancery Courts, as provided by the state constitution. Some districts also have legislatively established Criminal Courts and Probate Courts. Judges of these courts are elected to 8-year terms. Learn more here.

October 21, 2016
Today, the Tennessee Supreme Court celebrates the resounding success of the Business Court Docket Pilot Project operated as a part of the Davidson County Chancery Court.  Since its inception...
September 30, 2016
The Davidson County Chancery Court is implementing electronic case filing. Pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 18, the Chancellors of the Twentieth Judicial District are soliciting and will...
September 29, 2016
The Indigent Representation Task Force will meet at 10:30 a.m. on Friday, September 30 in Legislative Plaza.The Task Force will hear presentations from:Vince Dean, Hamilton County Criminal Court...
September 21, 2016
From the Knoxville News SentinelSee photos from the 50th anniversary celebration of the Fourth Circuit Court in Knox County, held on September 20, 2016.
September 21, 2016
From the Chattanooga Times Free PressThe city of Chattanooga on Monday launched a website aimed at helping people with criminal histories regain the right to vote and expunge their records.The...
Learn more about the courts in each county. Explore the Map.

Search Rules