ATJ Commissioner Blaze receives national award

December 6, 2012

Access to Justice Commissioner and Dean of the University of Tennessee College of Law Doug Blaze has been named the 2012 recipient of the Deborah Rhode Award.

The award is given each year by the  Association of American Law Schools to a dean or faculty member who has made an “outstanding contribution to increasing pro bono and public service opportunities in law schools through scholarship, leadership, and service.”

"This is a terrific national honor for Dean Blaze and for the State of Tennessee," said George T. "Buck" Lewis, chair of the Access to Justice Commission

Professor Blaze has received numerous honors and awards, including the prestigious Thomas Jefferson Prize from the University of Tennessee; the Bass, Berry & Sims Award for Outstanding Service to the Bench and Bar; the Harold Warner Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Carden Institutional Service Award. And for his efforts to promote equal access to justice in Tennessee, Professor Blaze received the B. Riney Green Award in 2003.