Indigent Representation Task Force Announces First Stops in West Tennessee

April 20, 2016

The Indigent Representation Task Force has announced a series of statewide listening tours to hear from those interested in sharing their thoughts on indigent defense in Tennessee. The first two stops will be next week in West Tennessee.

The Task Force will convene in Memphis on April 28 and again in Trenton on April 29. The Task Force invites anyone wishing to speak on the topic of indigent defense to submit their intention using the online form available here. Requests for speaking slots must be made by 4 p.m. on Tuesday, April 26.

Here are the details of the upcoming listening tour stops:

Memphis Listening Tour Session

Thursday, April 28, 2016
3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Vasco Smith Building
Shelby County Commission's Chambers, 1st Floor
160 North Main
Memphis, TN 38103

Trenton Listening Tour Session

Friday, April 29, 2016
3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
The Chancery Building
Chancery Courtroom (Chancellor George Ellis)
204 North Court Square
Trenton, TN 38382

Other scheduled listening tours stops are:

Johnson City – May 19 – 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. EST

Knoxville –­ May 20 – 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. EST

Cleveland – June 9 – 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. CST

Cookeville – June 10 – 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. CST

Nashville – July 29 – 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. CST

Specific details about locations will be available soon.

The task force met recently in Nashville and heard from subject-matter experts, including the Sixth Amendment Center, theTennessee District Public Defenders Conference, the Tennessee Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, and the Tennessee General Sessions Judges Conference. Materials from that meeting can be found here.

The task force was created by the Tennessee Supreme Court in late 2015 to study how indigent representation is administered in the state. The Indigent Representation Task Force has been charged with reviewing practices regarding how attorneys are compensated for work with defendants who are unable to afford legal counsel.More information about and materials from the Task Force can be found here.

Task Force members at their meeting in Nashville April 15, 2016: Judge Vicki Snyder, Rep. William Lamberth, Susan Mattson, Lela Hollabaugh, Jason Gichner, Judge Loyce Lambert Ryan, Dean William Koch, Torry Johnson, III, DarKenya Waller, Chief Justice Sharon Lee, Dwight Tarwater, Mark Mesler.