Justices Swear in New Bar Admittees

June 6, 2017

All five Tennessee Supreme Court Justices swore in applicants across the state to become members of the Tennessee Bar today, June 6, 2017.

In Memphis, Justice Holly Kirby swore in 12 new applicants to the Tennessee Bar.  In Nashville, Chief Justice Jeff Bivins and Justice Connie Clark swore in a total of 55 new applicants.  In Knoxville, Justice Sharon Lee also swore in new applicants.

The act of "swearing in" new applications is the granting of permission by a court system to a lawyer to practice law in that state.  The lawyers have earned a Juris Doctor degree and all passed a bar exam administered by the state of Tennessee.

TN Supreme Court Justice Holly Kirby, along with Memphis Bar Association Vice-President/President-Elect Earle Schwartz and the 12 newly admitted members of the Tennessee Bar.

TN Supreme Court Chief Justice Jeff Bivins and Justice Connie Clark swearing in one applicant to the Bar out of a total of 55 sworn in today.