Commission Accepting Applications for Vacancy in 17th Judicial District Circuit Court - Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall, and Moore Counties

August 14, 2017

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission is accepting applications for the Circuit Court judge vacancy in the 17th Judicial District – Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall, and Moore Counties. The 17th District Circuit Court vacancy was created when the Honorable Lee Russell announced he will retire effective November 30, 2017.

Qualified applicants must be a licensed attorney who is at least 30 years of age, a resident of the state for five years, and a resident of the 17th Judicial District. Interested applicants must complete the designated application, which is available at, and submit it to the Administrative Office of the Courts by noon CDT on September 6, 2017.

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will interview qualified applicants in Fayetteville on September 29, 2017. The meeting will include a public hearing, during which members of the public may express any objections to an applicant.

For more information, visit