Governor's Commission for Judicial Appointments

The Governor’s Commission for Judicial Appointments was established by Executive Order No. 34.  When there is a vacancy to be filled, the Commission will accept applications from interested parties, interview the applicants and then make a recommendation to the governor for consideration. The 17-member commission will send a panel of three nominees to the governor to make an appointment when a vacancy occurs or is impending. The governor may then appoint one of the recommended applicants to fill the vacancy.

Executive Order No. 34

MEMBERS

Chair:
Thomas (Tom) Lawless
Lawless & Associates, P.C.
The Customs House
701 Broadway, Ste. 403
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 351-7839
Email: tom.lawlessjnc@gmail.com

Vice Chair:
Michael Spitzer, Esq.
The Spitzer Firm
19 Cedar Street
Hohenwald, TN 38462
Phone: (931) 796-7974
Email: Spitzerfirm@bellsouth.net

Secretary
Gilbert Wayne (Bert) McCarter, II, Esq.
McCarter, Catron & East PLLC
101 North Maple Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Phone: (615) 278-9389
Email: bertmccarter@mcelaw.com

S. Leo Arnold, Esq.
Ashley, Ashley & Arnold
322 Church Avenue
Dyersburg, TN 38024
Phone: (731) 285-5074
Email: leo@ashleyarnold.com

Bradford Box
Rainey Kizer Reviere & Bell PLC
209 E. Main Street
Jackson, TN 38301
Phone: (731) 426-8142
Email: bbox@raineykizer.com

Miles Burdine
President & CEO
Kingsport Area Chamber of Commerce
400 Clinchfield Street, Suite 100
Kingsport, TN 37660
Phone: (423) 392-8807
Email: mburdine@kingsportchamber.org

Dr. Jesse Cannon
Western Mental Health Institute
11100 Highway 64
Bolivar, TN 38008
Phone: (731) 228-2000 Ext. 8766
Email: Jesse.Cannon@tn.gov

David A. Golden
Eastman Chemical Company
P.O. Box 431
Kingsport, TN 37662
Phone: (423) 229-2000
Email: dgolden@eastman.com

Alberto R. Gonzales
Dean and Doyle Rogers Distinguished Prof. of Law
Belmont University - College of Law
1900 Belmont Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37212-3757
Phone: (615) 460-8248
Email: alberto.gonzales@belmont.edu

 

 


Olen G. Haynes, Sr., Esq.
The Haynes Firm
207 East Main Street, Ste. 2-A
Johnson City, TN 37604
Phone: (423) 928-0165
Email: ogh@hayneslawyers.com

Jimmie Carpenter Miller
Hunter Smith & Davis LLP
1212 North Eastman Road
Kingsport, TN 37664
Phone: (423) 378-8852
Email: jmiller@hsdlaw.com

J. Bartlett (Bart) Quinn, Esq.
Chambliss, Bahner & Stophel, P.C.
Liberty Tower
605 Chestnut Street, Ste. 1700
Chattanooga, TN 37450
Phone: (423) 757-0205
Email: bquinn@cbslawfirm.com

Cheryl G. Rice
Egerton, McAfee, Armistead & Davis, P.C.
900 S. Gay Street
1400 Riverview Tower
Knoxville, Tennessee 37902
Phone: (865) 546-0500
Email: Crice@emlaw.com

William Scott Sims, Esq.
Sims|Funk, PLC
3310 West End Avenue, Suite 410
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 292-9335
Email: ssims@simsfunk.com

Charles Tuggle
Executive Vice President & General Counsel
First Horizon National Corporation
165 Madison Avenue
Memphis, TN 38103
Phone: (901) 523-4000
Email: ctuggle@firsthorizon.com

Honorable Amy P. Weirich
District Attorney General
30th Judicial District
201 Poplar Avenue, Suite 301
Memphis, TN 38103
Phone: (901) 222-1359
Email: Amy.Weirich@scdag.com

Verna Wyatt
Executive Director
Tennessee Voices for Victims
667 Wedgewood Ave, Suite B
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 818-0325
Email: verna.wyatt@tnvoicesforvictims.org

AOC Staff Contact:
Bill Young, Director
Administrative Office of the Courts
Nashville City Center
511 Union Street, Suite 600
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: (615) 741-2687
Fax: (615) 741-6285
E-mail: Bill.Young@tncourts.gov

Debra Hayes, Executive Administrative Asst.
Administrative Office of the Courts
Nashville City Center
511 Union Street, Suite 600
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: (615) 741-2687
Fax: (615) 741-6285
E-mail: Debra.Hayes@tncourts.gov