24 Apply for Open Seat on Judicial Nominating Commission

January 4, 2013

The Administrative Office of the Courts has received 24 applications for the seat on Judicial Nominating Commission created by the retirement of commission member Theresa Lee.

The comment period is now open and the Administrative Office of the Courts invites public comment regarding the applicants. Comments will be open until 4:30 p.m. CST Friday, January 18. The public may submit comments via email to jnc@tncourts.gov or via mail to:

AOC/Judicial Nominating Commission
Attn: Debbie Hayes
511 Union St Suite 600
Nashville, TN 37219

After the comment period, the Lieutenant Governor will have 14 days to fill the vacancy on the commission. The newly appointed commissioner will serve out the remainder of commission member Lee’s term, which expires June 30, 2015

The applicants are:

  • William J. Carver, Attorney, Blount County
  • Carl E. Colloms, Retired, Bradley County
  • Duncan V. Crawford, Attorney, Blount County
  • John P. Dreiser, Attorney, Knox County
  • John E. Eldridge, Attorney, Knox County
  • David A. Golden, Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary, Hawkins County
  • Ray H. Jenkins, Attorney, Knox County
  • Roger E. Jenne, Attorney, Bradley County
  • Edward L. Kershaw, Attorney, Greene County*
  • John K. King, Attorney, Knox County
  • McKinley S. Lundy, Jr., Associate Attorney at Patrick, Beard, Schulman & Jacoway, P.C., Hamilton County
  • Sean W. Martin, Attorney, Hamilton County
  • William E. Mason, Attorney, Knox County
  • Dale J. Montpelier, Sr., Attorney, Knox County
  • Carrie O'Rear, Partner at Norton, Spangler & Cramer, P. C., Knox County
  • Martin L. Pierce, Attorney, Hamilton County
  • Rick L. Powers, Senior Attorney, Arnett, Draper and Hagood, Loudon County
  • Robert E. Pryor, Sr. Attorney, Pryor, Flynn, Priest & Harber, Knox County
  • John T. Rice, Attorney, Hamilton County
  • Charles Riggs, UTC Police Department/Private Process Server, Rhea County
  • J. Randall Shelton, Attorney, Hamblen County
  • William Arthur Simms, Civil Trial Lawyer, Knox County
  • Wanda G. Sobieski, Attorney, Knox County
  • Douglas C. Weinstein, Attorney, Knox County

*Application received after deadline