Eight Apply for 19th Judicial District Circuit Court Vacancy

July 23, 2018

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will consider eight applicants when it meets on Tuesday, August 28 in Clarksville to select nominees for the circuit court judge vacancy in the 19th judicial district, which covers Montgomery and Robertson Counties. The position becomes effective September 1, 2018. The court was created by Chapter 974 of the Public Acts of 2018.

The applicants are:

Robert Bateman
Charlotte U. Fleming
John B. Holt
Joe R. “Jay” Johnson, II
Roger E. Nell
Kathryn Wall Olita
Elizabeth D. Rankin
Karen L. Willis

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will interview the applicants on August 28 at the Montgomery County Commission Chambers, located at 1 Millennium Plaza, Clarksville.

The meeting will include a public hearing starting at 9 a.m. CDT, during which anyone may express their opinions in opposition to the applicants. The Commission is expected to vote immediately following the interviews and forward three names to Governor Bill Haslam for his consideration.

Completed applications of all the candidates can be found on TNCourts.gov.