Eight Apply for 20th Judicial District Criminal Court Vacancy

July 23, 2018

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will consider eight applicants when it meets on Wednesday, August 29 in Nashville to select nominees for the criminal court judge vacancy in the 20th judicial district, which covers Davidson County. This vacancy was created by the upcoming retirement of the Honorable Seth Walker Norman, who will end his service effective August 31, 2018.

The applicants are:

Cynthia Chappell
David Paul DeWitt
Laura Clift Dykes
Dominic J. Leonardo
Thomas Jay Norman
Carrie Ann Searcy
Jennifer L. Smith
Rachel M. Stephens

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will interview the applicants on August 29 in Senate Hearing Room 2 of the Cordell Hull Building, 425 5th Avenue, Nashville.

The meeting will include a public hearing starting at 9 a.m. CDT, during which anyone may express their opinions in opposition to the applicants. The Commission is expected to vote immediately following the interviews and forward three names to Governor Bill Haslam for his consideration. 

Completed applications of all the candidates can be found on TNCourts.gov