Commission Sends Three Names to Governor for 20th Judicial District Criminal Court Vacancy - Davidson County

August 29, 2018

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission met today, Wednesday, August 29, 2018 to consider eight candidates for the Criminal Court vacancy in the 20th Judicial District – Davidson County.

This vacancy was created by the upcoming retirement of the Honorable Seth Walker Norman, who will end his service effective August 31, 2018.

After holding a public hearing and conducting public interviews, the Commission selected the following nominees:

Cynthia Chappell
Dominic J. Leonardo
Jennifer L. Smith

The Commission has forwarded the names to Gov. Bill Haslam for his consideration.

Information on the nominees can be found at